Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core Objective Definition
Critical Thinking: Where to Begin
Definitions, tools, and papers from the Critical Thinking Community, which works to "promote essential change in education and society through the cultivation of fairminded critical thinking."
Fundamentals of Critical Thinking
A collection of presentations on the role of critical thinking in higher education and strategies for teaching and assessing a wide range of intellectual skills that fall under the general heading of “critical thinking."
Critical Thinking: Concepts & Tools
This miniature guide distills the essence of critical thinking into a 23-page guide. It introduces the interrelated complex of critical thinking concepts and principles implicit in the works of Richard Paul and Linda Elder. This guide is widely used at the college level. It can be used as a critical thinking supplement to any textbook or course. The Library copy has call number LB1590.3 E44 2007.
Critical Thinking Competency Standards
The critical thinking competency standards articulated in this guide serve as a resource for teachers, curriculum designers, administrators and accrediting bodies. The use of these competencies across the curriculum will ensure that critical thinking is fostered in the teaching of any subject to all students at every grade level. This guide provides a framework for assessing students’ critical thinking abilities. It enables administrators, teachers and faculty at all levels to determine the extent to which students are reasoning critically within any subject or discipline.
Relevant Article Databases
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
One of the strongest indexes of publications in education.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators, professional librarians and education researchers. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers.