Research Guides: SOCW 3363: Urban Issues in the Global Environment: Library Databases

Basic Searching

LibSearch is a service provided by the library that searches most of our books and article databases at the same time. To use LibSearch, type your search terms into the search box that first appears in the center of the screen when you go to the library’s web page.
You will be able to choose ways to narrow your search by checking the Full-Text or Scholarly options located under the search box.
When you see an item marked full text or e-book you will be able to read it online by clicking on the title of the item, then following a series of links to the full text of the article or book.

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. federal government and all 50 states. Includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence, law review journals, and newspapers.

Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of political topics with a worldwide focus. In addition to indexing and full text content from hundreds of academic journals, it includes 340 full-text reference books and monographs and more than 44,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on political and social-policy issues back to 1923.

CQ Almanac (1945-2012) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Analysis of famous laws and actions in the U.S. Congress.

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers.
Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News articles from Texas (1823 to today) and the rest of the world (1996 to today).