Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UHD Archives and Special Collections: University Archives

Historical materials and rare books at UHD

Transferring Records

Here you can find instructions and procedures for appraising and transferring University records (both print and electronic) to the Archives:

Have a Question?

Please contact the Archivist with any record or research requests or to set up an appointment.

winslowa@uhd.edu

(713)-221-8932

 

Go to the Digital Archives

University Archives

The University Archives consists of all the records, both essential and historical, generated by the University in the course of its business. This includes materials from both UHD and also its predecessor, South Texas Junior College.

The Archives is arranged in large Record Groups, with individual offices having their own collections. There are seven Record Groups (links all go to specific collections within the Digital Archives):

 

RG-AA (Academic Affairs)

Contains the records of the Office of the Provost, Library, Planning, Enrollment Management, Advising, and Student Affairs

RG-C (Colleges and Academic Programs)

Contains records of the individual Colleges, distance education, English Language Institute, and sponsored programs

RG-ESO (Employment Services and Operations)

Contains all records related to Human Resources, training, and employment

RG-F (Administration and Finance)

Contains the records of Facilities, Information Technology, Budget, Compliance, and Police

RG-PA (Public Affairs)

Contains records and output of University Relations, Corporate Relations, Giving, and Events (including scholarship fundraising)

RG-PO (President's Office)

Each collection is a President's tenure

RG-STJC

This group contains all materials related to South Texas Junior College and its administration, as well as the purchase of STJC by University of Houston in 1974. It is broken down into several subgroups to facilitate searching.

RG-V (Visual Materials)

Contains any and all photographs, physical and digital, separated by time period and office

 

University Archivist