Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UHD Archives and Special Collections: Special Collections

Historical materials and rare books at UHD

University Publications

Besides rare and unique published materials, the Special Collections contains works published by or for The University of Houston-Downtown and its predecessor, South Texas Junior College.

Many of these materials are available online; some are not. These range from student publications to pieces created for alumni and faculty or staff by University Advancement and Public Affairs. The Course Catalog and graduate theses also fall into the Special Collections. Please contact the Archivist for more information.

Dateline Student Newspapers

The Dateline has been the student-run newspaper on campus since its debut issue in January 1983. The University Archives has an almost-complete run of the newspaper over its thirty year history, and continues to collect its weekly issues.

Click here to be redirected to the digital newspaper issues in the University Archives, as well as the finding aid for the paper issues.

 

Click here to also see past issues and the new podcast of the Dateline Downtown.

Skyline eNews

Skyline eNews has been in publication on a fully text-searchable blog since 2009. Prior to this, campus news was published as UHDC/UHD Notes, from the President's Office. Notes was discontinued and Skyline has been  in publication online since that time.

New Horizons and UHD Magazine

New Horizons, a magazine started by the Public Affairs side of the University, was intended to reach alumni, faculty, staff, and the greater community with news about UHD and its activities. It was first published in 2001, and the name was changed to UHD Magazine in 2011.

There is a full online archives of all issues available through Public Affairs.

Special Collections

Special Collections is largely composed of a small group of published books and other printed materials which revolve around the history of Houston and Texas. In addition, all faculty publications which have been collected are held under the Special Collections as a means of preservation.

A large portion of the collection is the private library of James Anthony Clark, the founder of the Energy Research and Education Foundation and a prolific author on the subject of oil and gas exploration and the history of Texas.

A sampling of books available in the Special Collections, with notes attached regarding any significance:

 

University Archivist