Skip to Main Content

CHEM 2101: Organic Chemistry Lab I

This guide is designed to assist student with an Organic Chemistry I Lab assignment, and how to use specific chemistry resources.

Physical Properties (boiling point, melting point, density, molecular weight)

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Use the "substance identifier" option. First time user? Click here to register.
- Registration Link for a SciFinder-n Account
New users must register for a SciFinder account.
1. Connect to the registration link.
2. Fill out the registration form using your UHD e-mail.
3. Find the confirmation message in your UHD e-mail.
4. Follow the instructions in the confirmation message to activate your account.
Use your UHD e-mail in the registration form.
- Students: username@gator.uhd.edu.
- Faculty and staff: username@uhd.edu.
- Connecting to SciFinder-n
Click on the Access Database button to start a session.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Combined Chemical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
PubChem This link opens in a new window

CAS Registry Number

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Use the "Substances" search. First time user? Click here to register.
- Registration Link for a SciFinder-n Account
New users must register for a SciFinder account.
1. Connect to the registration link.
2. Fill out the registration form using your UHD e-mail.
3. Find the confirmation message in your UHD e-mail.
4. Follow the instructions in the confirmation message to activate your account.
Use your UHD e-mail in the registration form.
- Students: username@gator.uhd.edu.
- Faculty and staff: username@uhd.edu.
- Connecting to SciFinder-n
Click on the Access Database button to start a session.
PubChem This link opens in a new window

Structure

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Use the "Substances" search. First time user? Click here to register.
- Registration Link for a SciFinder-n Account
New users must register for a SciFinder account.
1. Connect to the registration link.
2. Fill out the registration form using your UHD e-mail.
3. Find the confirmation message in your UHD e-mail.
4. Follow the instructions in the confirmation message to activate your account.
Use your UHD e-mail in the registration form.
- Students: username@gator.uhd.edu.
- Faculty and staff: username@uhd.edu.
- Connecting to SciFinder-n
Click on the Access Database button to start a session.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
PubChem This link opens in a new window

Spectra (IR, NMR, Mass)

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Use the "substance identifier" option. First time user? Click here to register.
- Registration Link for a SciFinder-n Account
New users must register for a SciFinder account.
1. Connect to the registration link.
2. Fill out the registration form using your UHD e-mail.
3. Find the confirmation message in your UHD e-mail.
4. Follow the instructions in the confirmation message to activate your account.
Use your UHD e-mail in the registration form.
- Students: username@gator.uhd.edu.
- Faculty and staff: username@uhd.edu.
- Connecting to SciFinder-n
Click on the Access Database button to start a session.

Hazards

PubChem This link opens in a new window

Price Per Quantity

Definition of a chemical concept or word

Article on "synthesis of"' or "purification of'" a compound

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Use the "References" search. First time user? Click here to register.
- Registration Link for a SciFinder-n Account
New users must register for a SciFinder account.
1. Connect to the registration link.
2. Fill out the registration form using your UHD e-mail.
3. Find the confirmation message in your UHD e-mail.
4. Follow the instructions in the confirmation message to activate your account.
Use your UHD e-mail in the registration form.
- Students: username@gator.uhd.edu.
- Faculty and staff: username@uhd.edu.
- Connecting to SciFinder-n
Click on the Access Database button to start a session.

Citing Sources

Need Help? Ask A Librarian

Susannah Cleland

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Health and Behavioral Sciences, Natural Sciences, Nursing